Woodblock Chocolate – Salt

Woodblock Chocolate – Salt
$4.00
70% Dark Chocolate
Rating: 3/5
Ingredients:  
Cacao, cane sugar and sea salt

Today I’ll be reviewing this cute little bar from Woodblock Chocolate from my city of resident, Portland Oregon! You can find this bar all over Portland and I have tried this bar before but I need to do another tasting of it (for science of course). This bar is also my go to as gifts to friends when they were having a bad day; it just feels like a little present.

So this is a little block of chocolate, perfect for one person or sharing it with someone. I personally liked the fact that I can bite off a small piece slowly making the bar last about the whole day. The bar itself is super smooth and shiny, I could almost make see my reflection on the bar when I first opened it.

Since the bar is pretty thick the snap is a little dull. I suggest you cut it into smaller pieces with a knife if you don’t want to bite bits of it off. The bar is not very sweet; the salt really brings out the bitter sweetness of the bar. It has a slight acidity to it and a milky aftertaste that lingers for a while. I bit off the bar in tiny pieces so it melted it fairly quickly in my mouth but the after taste that linger is lovely so I didn’t really felt the need for another bite right away.

Again, I love the size of this bar. It would be great as stocking stuffers or a for a gift basket. Their packaging is simple and very welcoming. The bar is wrapped in a thick textured stock. It’s not pretentious it’s just a bar of chocolate waiting to be enjoyed. Their type choices are fantastic, somewhat timey and industrial while still being friendly.

Would I get this bar again? Yes! My friends might see them in their stockings this year for Christmas.

Till the next bar!
– Mimi

Leave a comment